Sunday, June 20, 2010

The Beatles - Yellow Submarine Songtrack (1999)

The original vinyl release of this 1969 cartoon film soundtrack had one full side of orchestral music composed by legendary Beatles producer George Martin. The rest of the album contained a couple of previously released Beatles oldies that appeared in the film and only four new original songs.

Yellow Submarine Songtrack contains those four songs ("It's All Too Much," "Only A Northern Song," "Hey Bulldog," and "All Together Now") plus eleven previously issued tracks The Beatles recorded spanning the period of time from Rubber Soul through Magical Mystery Tour. All appear in the film, and for this disc, all have been remixed from their original versions. Except for restoring an additional verse to "It's All Too Much" that lengthens the song a bit, none of the re-mixes add anything to the superior originals. In many cases the differences are barely noticeable.

If you still need the four songs that were first released with the film to complete your Beatles collection buy it. Otherwise this collection is a waste of money.

1 comment:

  1. Maybe it's silly, but I'll have to fork out the cash for this for those four songs, just as I had to buy the vinyl for them many, many years ago. (I may even go find the earlier version of the CD just to have the George Martin instrumental tracks.)